Yugas|Yuga Cycle|Which Yuga is this?


A Yuga is an era in Hindu cosmology. There are a total of four Yugas —

1)Satya Yuga
2)Treta Yuga
3)Dwapara Yuga
4)Kali Yuga

Ratio of Yugas

The duration of Yugas are in the ratio 4:3:2:1
Each Yuga has 1/4th less duration and dharma than the previous starting with Satya Yuga and ending with Kali Yuga.

The Cycle of Yugas and there duration.

In order to understand the cycle of Yugas, first we need to know following points-

1) As we know that earth revolves around the sun. In the same way our Solar system is also revolving around a galactic center (not the Centre of the galaxy).

2) Due to Axial precession there is a gradual shift in the orientation of Earth’s axis of rotation. It takes 72 years to shift one degree and 25,920 years to complete one full circle of 360 degrees.

It is the same duration that our solar system takes to complete one revolution around the galactic center that is 25,920 years.
Therefore duration of half cycle takes 25,920/2 = 12,960 years.

Yugas Cycle
Yuga Cycle

Each half cycle is divided into 4 parts known as four Yugas.
Satya Yuga – 5184 years.
Treta Yuga – 3888 years.
Dwapara Yuga – 2592 years.
Kali Yuga – 1296 years.

All the four Yugas taken together form a total of 12,960 years.

When did Kali Yuga start? Which Yuga is this?

Kali Yuga began at midnight on 18 February 3102 BCE , according to the Surya Siddhanta. This is also considered the date on which Krishna left his body.
And signifies the end of Krishna’s era.

As of 2020 AD. The time elapsed is 3102+2020 = 5122 years.
Since each half cycle has 4 Yugas, therefore we have two kali Yugas of cumulative
1296*2=2592 years.
And Dwapara Yuga is 2592 years.
Total of Kali Yuga and Dwapara Yuga is 5184 years.

Since time elapsed is 5122 years only, thus few more years are required in order to complete Dwapara Yuga. That means we are in Dwapara Yuga.
Difference is 5184-5122= 62years.

That is we are going to complete Dwapara Yuga in 2082, and then we will be entering in Treta Yuga.